MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List


Artist: Pet Shop Boys
Type: Album
Release date: 1991
Run time: 76:51
My Rating: 8

  1. West End Girls (4:00)
  2. Love comes quickly (4:18)
  3. Opportunities (let's make lots of money) (3:38)
  4. Suburbia (4:04)
  5. It's a sin (5:01)
  6. What have I done to deserve this? (4:20)
  7. Rent (3:33)
  8. Always on my mind (3:54)
  9. Heart (4:17)
  10. Domino dancing (4:18)
  11. Left to my own devices (4:47)
  12. It's alright (4:20)
  13. So hard (4:00)
  14. Being boring (4:51)
  15. Where the streets have no name (4:32)
  16. Jealousy (4:15)
  17. DJ Culture (4:14)
  18. Was it worth it? (4:23)


I picked up this album primarily for nostalgia reasons. "Suburbia" made a big impression on me back in the 80s, and I'd seen the music videos for a number of their songs on Ready To Roll, a music show which screened here back then.

If you're not familiar with the Pet Shop Boys, they're a British duo who produce generally what I tend to think of as thoughtful disco pop. Behind the disco beat, the lyrics will often cynically examine some aspect of life. Though obviously lacking in their more recent material, being it was released in '91, this is a pretty good showcase of their best early material. Mixed in are a few cover versions. I especially like their cover of U2's "Where the Streets Have No Name", which I hadn't heard before I bought this album and which works very well reinterpreted in Pet Shop Boy style.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin