MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

The Art in Heaven Concert

Artist: Mike Oldfield
Type: DVD
Release date: 2001
Run time: 80:0
My Rating: 9

Picture Ratio: 4:3
Extras: Making of, interview with Mike
Audio Options: Dolby Digital 5.1, Linear PCM Stereo

  1. Tubular Bells (7:28)
  2. Portsmouth (3:07)
  3. Moonlight Shadow (5:22)
  4. Secrets (4:59)
  5. Shadow on the Wall (4:20)
  6. Sunlight (4:33)
  7. The Doge's Palace (3:01)
  8. Mastermind (3:07)
  9. Broad (3:57)
  10. Liberation (2:42)
  11. Amber Light (3:44)
  12. The Millennium Bell (+ Credits) (9:46)
  13. Art in Heaven (13:43)


This is the end-of-millenium concert Mike did in Berlin. The result: an excellent concert and well-directed footage. There's a few glaring examples of miming (the worst being when Pepsi mimes to vocals recorded by Mike's daughter!) but on the whole, it's pretty good.

Odd that they chose to present the Art in Heaven performance as an individual feature. This is an especially composed piece which is combined with a spectacular light show, though I think whoever edited it cheated a bit by overlaying explosions...

The "Making Of" special feature consists of footage of the stage and so forth being assembled with a backing track of music from the concert. The five-minute interview is a bit more interesting (though brief) and has footage of Mike's home and Mike's thoughts on the Millennium Bell album. Mike claims in this that the album will be the last piece of music he does "with the bell written on it".

Mike rocks during Shadow on the Wall

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin