MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Volume 1 Sound Magic

Artist: Afro Celt Sound System
Type: Album
Release date: 1996
Run time: 65:51
My Rating: 9

  1. Saor/Free + News from Nowhere (8:21)
  2. Whirl-y-reel (Beard and Sandels mix) (7:21)
  3. Inion/Daughter (4:15)
  4. Sure-as-not + Sure-as-knot (Jungle Segue) (9:58)
  5. Nil Cead Againn Dul Abhaile/We Cannot Go Home (7:20)
  6. Dark Moon, High Tide (4:12)
  7. Whirl-y-reel (Folk Police mix) (5:27)
  8. House of the Ancestors (8:01)
  9. Eistigh Liomsa Sealad/Listen to Me + Saor Reprise (10:53)


A collaboration of musicians gives us a bizarre idea: an equal mix of Celtic and African music. Somehow it works, and quite well too! The result is something like a cross between a more-mellow Stone Age and Deep Forest, and reminds me a lot of the Celtic Circle series, though it's mostly instrumental.

Given the excellent work here, it's hard to pick favourite tracks, but I'm quite fond of the two "Whirl-y-reel" mixes, "Sure-as-not" (I love the guitars), and "House of the Ancestors". Very well done.

For some mystifying reason this came with four copies of the sleeve notes.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin