MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Light + Shade

Artist: Mike Oldfield
Type: Album
Release date: 2005
Run time: 81:57
My Rating: 9

Disc 1 (41:25)

  1. Angelique (4:40)
  2. Blackbird (4:39)
  3. The Gate (4:14)
  4. First Steps (10:02)
  5. Closer (2:51)
  6. Our Father (6:50)
  7. Rocky (3:19)
  8. Sunset (4:47)

Disc 2 (40:32)

  1. Quicksilver (5:55)
  2. Resolution (4:33)
  3. Slipstream (5:15)
  4. Surfing (5:36)
  5. Tears of an Angel (5:38)
  6. Romance (4:00)
  7. Ringscape (4:22)
  8. Nightshade (5:11)


If was nice of Mike to give us two albums in one release. The only thing which sours it a bit is the UK release has 4 or 5 tracks that the down-under release doesn't...

Light: a chillout album not dissimilar in style and mood to Tr3s Lunas, oddly enough, but unique enough to be its own album. More of the music from the game which came with Tr3s Lunas is featured - this is especially obvious on "First Steps". Very pleasant to listen to and inoffensive.

Shade: is more variable, more like the Oldfield of old. The first three tracks are dance music, more or less, then "Surfing" is more mellow and reminds me of Islands. "Tears of an Angel" is one of the best and more complex pieces of music Mike has produced recently. Me like! "Romance" reminded me a lot of the last track on Millennium Bell. The better of the two albums.

The cover is reversable, so depending on your mood, you can have the scorched "Light" cover or the cyan "Shade" cover.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin