MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Volume 3: Further in Time

Artist: Afro Celt Sound System
Type: Album
Release date: 2001
Run time: 70:44
My Rating: 9

  1. North (6:49)
  2. North 2 (3:01)
  3. When You're Falling (5:14) Featuring Peter Gabriel
  4. Colossus (6:44)
  5. Lagan (4:04)
  6. Shadowman (6:36)
  7. Life Begin Again (6:22) Featuring Robert Plant
  8. Further in Time (6:32)
  9. Go On Through (8:03) Featuring Pina Kollars
  10. Persistence of Memory (4:29)
  11. The Silken Whip (7:18)
  12. Onwards (5:29)


Each track is so very different from the others on this album that it's almost hard to believe they were all written by the same people. You have "Colossus" which is very fast-paced Celtic, followed by "Lagan" which has a more slow-paced and cruisy African feel, and there's also "Life Begin Again" which is so darkly beautiful and reminds me of Loreena McKennitt's music. It all makes it feel somewhat like a grab bag of unrelated tracks.

Record label owner Peter Gabriel pops in to provide vocals for the very upbeat and enjoyable "When You're Falling", and Robert Plant appears on the aforementioned "Life Begin Again". The highlight of the album for me though is Pina Kollars' gorgeous vocals on "Go On Through". Wow!

There's also a computer program on the disc which pops up a wee Flash animation with a link to which didn't do anything when I clicked on it. The domain redirects to the official ACSS site anyway, which no longer holds the promised ability to remix Colossus (and herein we find the problem with linking to web content from albums).

Alas, Volume 4 is somewhat heinously copy protected, so this will probably be the last ACSS album I buy for a while.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin