MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Music of the Spheres

Artist: Mike Oldfield
Type: Album
Release date: 2008
Run time: 45:29
My Rating: 9

  1. Harbinger (4:08)
  2. Animus (3:09)
  3. Silhouette (3:19)
  4. Shabda (3:56)
  5. The Tempest (5:48)
  6. Harbinger Reprise (1:30)
  7. On My Heart (2:26)
  8. Aurora (3:42)
  9. Prophecy (2:54)
  10. On My Heart Reprise (1:16)
  11. Harmonia Mundi (3:46)
  12. The Other Side (1:28)
  13. Empyrean (1:37)
  14. Musica Universalis (6:24)


Monseur Oldfield's latest album comes in a CD-sized, DVD-style jewel case for no apparent reason, and is the promised "classical" album, co-produced by Karl "Adiemus" Jenkins, and complete with a guest appearance by Kiwi singer Hayley Westenra. Also he's ditched Warner Music in favour of Universal.

"Harbinger" sounds suspiciously like the opening of Tubular Bells, and I think it may have been an unfortunate choice to open the album as it creates the initial impression is that the album's going to simply be another Tubular Bells remake (it doesn't help that the first few notes of "Animus" sound like the first few notes of a track from one of his other albums as well...) but once you're past that, it is new material. The composition is also more tailored for an orchestra, resulting in a better album than the Orchestral Tubular Bells, though it still sounds distinctively Oldfieldian.

Whether it will attract any of the traditional Classical audience I don't know, but Mike's fans should snap it up.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin