MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

The Songs of Distant Earth

Artist: Mike Oldfield
Type: Album
Release date: 1994
Run time: 55:47
My Rating: 10

  1. In The Beginning (1:24)
  2. Let There Be Light (4:52)
  3. Supernova (3:29)
  4. Magellan (4:41)
  5. First Landing (1:16)
  6. Oceania (3:27)
  7. Only Time Will Tell (4:19)
  8. Prayer For The Earth (2:10)
  9. Lament For Atlantis (2:44)
  10. The Chamber (4:49)
  11. Hibernaculum (3:32)
  12. Tubular World (3:23)
  13. The Shining Ones (2:59)
  14. Crystal Clear (5:42)
  15. The Sunken Forest (2:39)
  16. Ascension (5:48)
  17. A New Beginning (1:33)


This is my favourite album ever. A sweeping, majestic space soundtrack incorporating whale song, Gregorian chant and an African chorus. Although Mike has been accused of copying Engima, the album has a distinctively different feel to any of the latter artist's work (In fact Enigma's third album, which I think is nearest to this one, wasn't released until two years later...).

Some versions of this album come with a CD-ROM section which contains an interactive "game" of sorts. Unfortunately for me, this only works on Apple computers.

Similar Items

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin