MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Tubular Bells 3

Artist: Mike Oldfield
Type: Album
Release date: 1998
Run time: 46:40
My Rating: 9

  1. The Source of Secrets (5:34)
  2. The Watchful Eye (2:09)
  3. Jewel in the Crown (5:45)
  4. Outcast (3:49)
  5. Serpent Dream (2:53)
  6. The Inner Child (4:41)
  7. Man in the Rain (4:01)
  8. The Top of the Morning (4:26)
  9. Moonwatch (4:25)
  10. Secrets (3:20)
  11. Far Above the Clouds (5:30)


Tubular Bells III shows the marked effects of Mike's experiences in Ibiza. While his last few albums tended more towards the ambient end of the scale, TB3 opens boldly with a dance version of the original Tubular Bells signature tune. I've often felt that many of the tracks are riffs on previous albums: "Jewel in the Crown" is not unlike the style of TSODE, "Outcast" reminds me strongly of "Shadow on the Wall", and "Man in the Rain" is quite blatantly similar to "Moonlight Shadow". The latter track seems somewhat out of place on the album in terms of general tone.

I particularly like the way "Secrets" segues into the starting of "Far Above the Cloud", which is a wonderfully dramatic climax to the album complete with the sound of tubular bells.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin