MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

MCMXC a.D. Limited Edition

Artist: Enigma
Type: Album
Release date: 1991
Run time: 60:27
My Rating: 9

  1. The Voice of Enigma (2:08)
  2. Principles of Lust - Sadeness (4:15)
  3. Principles of Lust - Find Love (4:49)
  4. Principles of Lust - Sadeness (reprise) (2:48)
  5. Callas Went Away (4:29)
  6. Mea Culpa (4:53)
  7. The Voice & the Snake (1:45)
  8. Knocking on Forbidden Doors (4:27)
  9. Back to the Rivers of Belief - Way to Eternity (2:19)
  10. Back to the Rivers of Belief - Hallelujah (4:15)
  11. Back to the Rivers of Belief - The Rivers of Belief (3:31)
  12. Sadeness (meditation) (2:43)
  13. Mea Culpa (fading shades) (6:04)
  14. Principles of Lust (everlasting lust) (4:50)
  15. The Rivers of Belief (the returning silence) (7:04)


Much has been said about the profound effect the coming of Enigma had on the music world, spawning many similar groups and copycat albums, but this is the definitive original. A mixture of electronic beats, Gregorian monk chants and breathy female vocals, MCMXC a.D. creates a rich atmosphere mixing religion and sensuality.

Also, at one point there's what sounds like a woman climaxing. Yo!

You've probably heard "Sadeness", which charted extremely well at the time and has been included on many compilation albums. This is also the "Limited Edition" which has four remixes stapled onto the end - generally pretty good though not wildly different in style from the original tracks.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin