MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

The Cross of Changes

Artist: Enigma
Type: Album
Release date: 1994
Run time: 44:13
My Rating: 8

  1. Second Chapter (2:15)
  2. The Eyes of Truth (7:14)
  3. Return to Innocence (4:15)
  4. I Love You ... I'll Kill You (8:52)
  5. Silent Warrior (6:09)
  6. The Dream of the Dolphin (2:67)
  7. Age of Loneliness (5:21)
  8. Out from the Deep (4:53)
  9. The CROSS of Changes (2:24)


Enigma's second album de-emphasizes the Gregorian religion/lust aspects of MCMXC in favour of a more ethnic/African theme and a fuller, richer sound. Includes the highly-popular "Return to Innocence", which in my books is one of the best examples of this genre of music. Other high points include the choral section of "The Eyes of Truth", serene "The Dream of the Dolphin", and "Out from the Deep" which is probably the nearest thing to pop on this album.

Oddly the only album in the first Enigma set not to end with his distinctive signature (I had wondered if he'd intended to start the third album with a sound similar to the final track to link them, but opted for his signature track as he'd already used it to open the first two albums. Or maybe I'm reading too much into it!)

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin