MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

Happy Nation (U.S. Version)

Artist: Ace of Base
Type: Album
Release date: 1993
Run time: 57:48
My Rating: 8

  1. All That She Wants (3:34)
  2. Don't Turn Around (3:51)
  3. Young And Proud (3:58)
  4. The Sign (3:12)
  5. Living In Danger (3:44)
  6. Voulez-Vous Danser (3:20)
  7. Happy Nation (4:17)
  8. Hear Me Calling (3:52)
  9. Waiting For Magic (Total Remix 7") (3:51)
  10. Fashion Party (4:13)
  11. Wheel Of Fortune (3:54)
  12. Dancer In A Daydream (3:40)
  13. My Mind (Mindless Mix) (4:12)
  14. All That She Wants (Banghra Version) (4:18)
  15. Happy Nation (Remix) (3:46)


Back in the early 90s, Ace of Base popped up from somewhere in Sweden and were proclaimed the ABBA of the 90s, although unfortunately they haven't enjoyed the same level of success. This album was released in the US as 'The Sign' - there was a non-US version released beforehand, but ironically it's harder to find.

Although the engineering seems very primitive and the synth instruments sound like a throw-back to the 70s and 80s, the music is enthusiastic and peppy, the tunes enduring. Ace of Base's following albums would be a great improvement in sound and, although they didn't do as well commerically, maintained the same upbeat carefree attitude which is so rare in the music industry today.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin