MainDoctor WhoMusicSoftware

Mike Oldfield Björk Enigma Daft Punk Moby Dead Can Dance Delerium Enya Other Artists Links The Big List

An Ancient Muse

Artist: Loreena McKennitt
Type: Album
Release date: 2006
Run time: 54:28
My Rating: 8

  1. Incantation (2:35)
  2. The Gates of Istanbul (6:59)
  3. Caravanserai (7:35)
  4. The English Ladye and the Knight (6:48)
  5. Kecharitomene (6:34)
  6. Penelope's Song (4:21)
  7. Sacred Shabbat (4:00)
  8. Beneath a Phrygian Sky (9:29)
  9. Never-Ending Road (Amhrán Duit) (6:02)


So about 9 years after the release of her previous studio album, Loreena McKennitt released An Ancient Muse. It's the sort of album her fans will love, being as it is a continuation of the same sound which made McKennitt hugely successful, even down to sometimes quoting sequences from her previous albums.

I've often seen accusations that Enya releases the same album every five years, but there's a lot more variance between Amarantine, A Day Without Rain, and The Memory of Trees, than there is between McKennitt's last few albums. I was slightly disappointed that in the 9 years since The Book of Secrets that her music doesn't seem to have progressed or grown at all.

On the other hand, at least you can be fairly confident you're not going to get a dud.

[Cover - please do not remote link]

Feedback | Site Map | Admin